42927 members | 74 on in past hour

Remember me on this device




Team Carruthers to represent Manitoba at Brier in Brandon

Posted by Adam in Local Sports, 2/10, 5:31 PM

They did it in a somewhat unconventional way, but Team Carruthers prevailed over Team Lyburn 5-3 at the Viterra Championship in Virden this afternoon to win the Manitoba men’s curling crown and the right to represent the Province at the Tim Hortons Brier in Brandon next month. 

Heading into the event as the favourite, Carruthers and Co were given an early scare in the the double knockout format tournament in losing their second game to Brandon-based Team McNamee by a 9-5 score. They would be perfect from that point however, reaching the playoffs and final through the B-side including a rematch with McNamee along the way en route to Sunday’s closely matched final with former Brandonite Lyburn. 

Team Carruthers will now represent Manitoba at the Brier at Westoba Place from March 2-10 and they’ll do it with their share of connections to the city. Second Derek Samagalski now lives in the Wheat City and had played for Rob Fowler’s 2012 rink that went to the Brier that year as Manitoba champion. Mike McEwen was born and raised here before moving to Winnipeg. 

The newly crowned Team Manitoba will join a Brier field that includes:

  • Brad Gushue (Team Canada)
  • Jim Cotter (BC)
  • Scott McDonald (Ontario)
  • Terry Odishaw (New Brunswick)
  • Andrew Symonds (Nfld and Labrador)
  • Brad Jacobs (Northern Ontario)
  • Stuart Thompson (Nova Scotia)
  • Dave St. Louis (Nunavut)
  • John Likely (PEI)
  • Martin Crete (Quebec)
  • Jon Solberg (Yukon)
  • Kirk Muyres (Saskatchewan)

Representatives for each of Alberta and Northwest Territories were also to be determined today

Photo credit: Curl Manitoba


There is currently no discussion related to this Buzz Post
 Start a discussion

Share this post: